skip to content

Treatment and Prevention of Diseases linked to Poverty

A Public Health Approach

Of all the diseases linked to poverty, AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis are responsible for nearly 10% of global mortality and primarily occur in the least developed countries.

On the basis of its expertise in public health, AEDES has always advocated an integrated approach in the fight against these diseases. The aim of this practical approach is to integrate prevention and treatment and encourage their decentralisation as much as possible in order to improve the financial and geographical accessibility of health care.

Another of AEDES' key strategies is to improve health information systems to make it possible to assess and reshape the strategies introduced.

Specialist Technical Expertise

The fight against diseases such as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis requires specific know-how in prevention and treatment, protocol decisions, training, community involvement and medicine supply. In each of these fields AEDES has established an extensive network of experts: clinicians, public health doctors, social anthropologists, economists, pharmacists and medicine and medical supplies procurement and distribution specialists.


AEDES has developed expertise both in broad areas such as policies, strategic directions and HIV/AIDS intervention planning, and in more specific areas such as supporting patient-centred care, direct cooperation with associations of people living with HIV/AIDS and improving access to antiretroviral drugs.

Broad areas:

  • Assessing the impact of the European Union DG for Development HIV/AIDS budget for the period 1994-2000, which included field analyses in four countries;
  • Providing support in drafting country proposals for the Global Fund, preparing support for the NAP (National Aids Plan), developing various health care decentralisation programmes, programme assessments and policy recommendations.

Specific areas:

  • AEDES is working with the Belgian Red Cross on a national infectious diseases programme (AIDS and hepatitis) in Libya, with funding from the European Union.
  • Between 2005 and 2008, AEDES coordinated a multi-country project to create a mutually reinforcing dynamic between stakeholders in the fight against HIV/AIDS (Haiti, Guinea and Burundi, see The aim of this project was to improve the quality of the care given to people living with HIV/AIDS by improving basic health services, developing public, private and association networks and developing charters of good practice.
  • Assessing, monitoring and supporting supply channels for ARVs and drugs for AIDS-related illnesses.
  • Developing training profiles and modules for treating PLHIVs in different contexts.
  • Setting up patient records and follow-up reports and developing a software package to monitor patients on ARVs.
  • Economic research on the cost-effectiveness of treatment.

AEDES works closely with an extensive network of experts and with various public health institutions in the field of HIV/AIDS: ESTHER, SIDACTION, Institute of Tropical Medicine Antwerp, national public health institutes in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Madagascar and Burundi and GESKHIO in Haiti. We also work with various international and local NGOs such as MSF, AIDES, ANSS in Burundi, CONCERN and SOE in Haiti, FMG in Guinea and also with the private sector (PCS).


AEDES has launched a specific and original initiative to transfer drug production technologies to African countries (for instance, for the production of antimalarial drugs) through its association with a group of pharmaceutical experts (OTECI). The objective is to promote local production managed as a "public interest" institution and to ensure that the quality of the products available improves (Madagascar, Kenya and Uganda, see the website

AEDES can call on the support of numerous partners and associates involved in the fight against malaria, in particular, the Institute of Tropical Medicine Antwerp, Université Paris 7 and the Institut de Santé Publique in Madagascar, NGOs such as Médecins sans Frontières, Epicentre, public-private partnerships such as DNDI ( and international organisations such as WHO and Roll Back Malaria.

aller au contenu

Prise en charge et prévention des maladies liées à la pauvreté

Une approche de santé publique

Parmi les nombreuses maladies liées à la pauvreté, Le SIDA, la malaria et la tuberculose sont responsables de près de 10% de la mortalité globale et apparaissent principalement dans les pays les moins développés.

Partant de son expertise en santé publique, AEDES a toujours préconisé une approche intégrée dans la lutte contre ces maladies. Cette approche pragmatique vise à intégrer prévention et traitement et encourage au maximum leur décentralisation afin de renforcer l'accessibilité financière et géographique aux soins.

AEDES a également pour stratégie clé le renforcement des systèmes d'information sanitaire afin de pouvoir évaluer les stratégies mises en place et les réorienter.

Une expertise technique spécialisée

La lutte contre le VIH/Sida tout comme la lutte contre la malaria ou contre la tuberculose nécessitent des compétences spécifiques au niveau de la prévention et des traitements, du choix des protocoles, de la formation, de l'implication des communautés, de l'approvisionnement en médicaments. AEDES a donc établi dans chacun de ces différents domaines un vaste réseau d'experts : cliniciens, médecins de santé publique, socio-anthropologues, économistes, pharmaciens, spécialistes en achat et distribution de médicaments et d'équipement.

 

Plus spécifiquement dans le domaine de la lutte contre le VIH/Sida

AEDES a développé des compétences tant au niveau macro : politiques, orientations stratégiques et planification d'interventions de lutte contre le VIH/Sida qu'au niveau micro : appui à la prestation de soins centrés sur les patients, collaboration directe avec des associations de personnes vivant avec le VIH/Sida, renforcement de l'accès aux antirétroviraux.

Dans le domaine macro :

  • Evaluation de l'impact de la ligne budgétaire VIH/SIDA de la DG Développement de l'Union Européenne sur la période 1994-2000, comprenant des analyses de terrain dans 4 pays ;
  • Appui à la rédaction des propositions des pays pour le fond global, à la formulation de l'appui au PNLS, formulation de divers programmes de décentralisation de la prise en charge, évaluation de programmes et recommandations politiques.

Dans le domaine micro:

  • AEDES participe avec la Croix-Rouge belge à un programme national de lutte contre les maladies infectieuses (Sida et hépatites) en Libye avec un financement de l'Union Européenne.
  • Entre 2005 et 2008, AEDES a coordonné un projet multi-pays de renforcement mutuel des acteurs dans la lutte contre le VIH/Sida. (Haïti, Guinée, Burundi voir www.aedesprojetsida.org) Ce projet visait à améliorer la qualité de la prise en charge des personnes vivant avec le VIH/Sida à travers un renforcement des services de santé de base, la mise en réseau d'acteurs publics, privés et associatifs, le développement de chartes de bonnes pratiques.
  • Evaluation, suivi et appui aux circuits d'approvisionnement en ARV et médicaments contre les maladies opportunistes.
  • Elaboration de référentiels et de modules de formation pour la prise en charge des PVVIH dans différents contextes.
  • Mise en place de dossiers patients, de tableaux de bords de suivi et développement d'un logiciel informatisé de suivi des patients sous ARV.
  • Etudes économiques sur le rapport coût-efficacité des traitements.

AEDES collabore avec un large réseau d'experts et avec différentes institutions de santé publique dans le domaine de la lutte contre le VIH/SIDA: ESTHER, SIDACTION, l'Institut de Médecine Tropicale d'Anvers, les Instituts Nationaux de Santé Publique en République Démocratique du Congo, à Madagascar et au Burundi, GESKHIO en Haïti et collabore également avec différentes ONGs internationales et locales telles que MSF, AIDES, l'ANSS au Burundi, CONCERN et SOE en Haïti, FMG en Guinée ainsi qu'avec le secteur privé (PCS)

 

Plus spécifiquement dans le domaine de la lutte contre le paludisme

AEDES a pris une initiative spécifique et originale, afin de transférer les technologies liées à la production de médicaments vers les pays africains (par exemple. pour la production des antimalariques), grâce à son association avec un groupe d'experts pharmaceutiques (OTECI). L'objectif est de favoriser la production locale gérée comme institution d'« intérêt public » et de fiare en sorte que la qualité des produits disponibles s'améliore. (Madagascar, Kenya, Ouganda voir le site www.artepal.org
AEDES  peut faire appel à de nombreux partenaires et collaborateurs impliqués dans la lutte contre la malaria notamment, l'Institut de Médecine Tropicale d'Anvers, l'Université Paris 7, l'Institut de Santé Publique à Madagascar, et des ONGs telles que Médecins sans Frontières, Epicentre, des partenariats public-privé comme le DNDI (www.dndi.org) ou des organisations internationales comme l'OMS ou Roll Back Malaria.